Search Results for:privacy protection
What is Whois Privacy?
Whois Privacy Protection is a service that most major domain registrars offer to their clients to keep whois information private. When whois privacy is used, a third party essentially becomes the "proxy owner" of the domain name, but forwards communications onto you, the actual owner. If you see text in a domain registration that says something like "Private Registration" or "Privacy Protected", that means the owner of the domain does not want you to be able to see their information. You should still be able to email that owner, but you won't really know who is on the other end of the conversation.
Why Might I Want Public Contact Information?
Most businesses prefer to have public contact information. They want other people to contact them, for conducting business online. Some people interpret whois privacy as you are trying to hide something, and therefore using a whois privacy service could lead to less trust in the long term.
What happens when my domain expires? This information might be out of context
If you do not renew your domain name before it expires, the domain name goes into a status of "Expired". This means your domain name will not function correctly, you will not receive email from the domain (if configured), and if you do not renew the domain shortly, it will go into the final process of being deleted from the registry. If you do not renew your domain name shortly, it will enter a point in the expiration process that is called "Redemption Grace Period", and at that point it will cost a lot more to reactivate the domain name than it does to simply renew it right now for the renewal cost.
Please note most functions on this page still work. You can still update whois information on the domain and configure privacy protection. However, as the domain name is expired you are not able to change other things such as nameservers on the domain, or to change locking for the domain. These functions are restricted at the registry and NameBright does not have control over this.
Push domain help
If you want to push a domain to another account you must provide the user's email address and username before the push can be initiated. This is for security purposes to make sure you don't accidentally push a domain name to the wrong person. You can not push the domain to someone who does not already have an account with NameBright.com.
Once a push is started it will expire in 5 days if the receiving user does not log into their account and "accept" the push from their end. Tell the person that is receiving the push to go to NameBright.com > My Account > Transfers > Pushing To Me. Once he/she accepts the push it will immediately be moved from your account to theirs.
If the person receiving the push wants to put the domain into a specific category or add privacy protection, they will be given the opportunity when they accept the push. (not when you initiate the push)
If the push is not accepted by the "Request Expires On" date, the push will automatically be cancelled and the domain will remain in your account. For this reason it is important if you want the push to complete that the recipient of the domain(s) accept the push in their account within 5 days of the push being initiated.
What is the NameBright Security Log?
The security log is a place where you can monitor what is happening in your account. There are three severity levels... Information, Warnings and Critical. Security logs do not just provide you information about what is happening with your account, but when you have linked accounts setup (where other users can access your account) this will give you full control to see / know what is happening within your account and what user(s) have taken specific actions.
Informational: This is for your information, typically is not important details. Informational security logs typically are account logins, changing of settings in your account (such as timezone), creation/deletion of categories, creation/deletion of email accounts.
Warnings: Warnings are slightly more important to you than Informational messages. These include Failed login attempts, domains being transferred to other registrars, domains being pushed out of your account, credit card expiration notices, etc.
Critical: Critical messages are those that you should really pay the most attention to. These items include, but are not limited to ownership change of your account, password changes, turning the ability to delete domains on, actual deletion of domains from your account, adding linked accounts, etc.
Every domain has it's own domain history associated with it, so do not look in the account security log for changes to privacy protection, nameservers, host records, etc.
* Please note that not every action in NameBright creates a security log. And NameBright reserves the right to add/delete and change security log information, as well as change the severity levels assigned to each action.
How do I transfer a domain to another registrar
It's a large process, and this is only a rough overview.
1. Purchase and request domain transfer at the new registrar
When you purchase a domain transfer, some of the registrars may let you to keep all the time remaining on your existing registration, plus you may get a FREE 1-year extension. After the payment is processed, the status of the domain at the new registrar will be set to Authorization Required. You will also receive an email from the new registrar containing Transaction ID and Security Code.
2. Request authorization code at current registrar.
Login to your current registrar account and request for 'authorization code request'. You have to turn off the domain protection before you can request authorization code from the current registrar. Following screen shows the link from my current registrar that gave the option to request authorization code.
3. Authorization code received from current registrar.
You'll receive an email from current registrar with Authorization code.
4. Begin the transfer from the new registrar using the authorization code.
Go to the new registrar and begin the transfer process. At this stage, the new registrar will display the Status as "Authorization required" and the Recommended Action as "Authorization - Begin transfer authorization"
Enter the authorization code that was received from the current registrar and complete this process. After this step, the new registrar will display the Status as"Pending Current Registrar approval" and the Recommended Action as "Accept transfer at current registrar"
5. Email Notification from current registrar.
You will get an email from the current registrar confirming your transfer request. You don't need to take any action if you want to accept the transfer. If you wish to cancel the transfer, follow the link from the email.
6. Domain Transfer completed to new registrar
A final confirmation email from new registrar was received approximately 4 days after initiating the transfer at the current registrar. Please note that the current registrar has up to 5 days to release the transfer of the domain.